2016 H1 Unlimited Awards

January 19, 2017

Miss HomeStreet driver Jimmy Shane and the HomeStreet sponsored Miss Madison Racing Team took home the top honors at the H1 Unlimited 2016 Awards Banquet, the National Championship trophies for both the pilot and the team. This was Shane’s 4th straight Bill Muncey National High Point Championship driver trophy. The community-owned HomeStreet sponsored Miss Madison team took 1st place honors and National Team High Point Championship for the third consecutive year.  The team has taken the crown in 7 of the last 9 years. HomeStreet Bank was named Sponsor of the Year while the U1 team received honors as Crew of the Year and Dan Hoover was named Crew Chief of the Year. Andrew Tate, the driver of the U-9 race team owned by Lori Jones, was honored as 2016 Rookie of the Year. Scott and Shannon Raney of the U-11 Peters & May team were named Owners of the Year.  The Tri-Cities Water Follies organization was named Site of the Year. The 2017 season will begin with test sessions in Tri-Cities, Washington on Friday, June 2 and Guntersville, Alabama on Saturday, June 17. 2016 H1 Unlimited Champions Gala Awards Sponsor of the Year:  HomeStreet Bank Outstanding Contribution:  Award Ted Grange Montgomery Excellence in Media Award:  Mark Brudenell, Detroit Free Press Vic Nelawake Award:  Niles Mayfield Chairman's Award:  Ken Muscatel Chairman's Award:  Bruce Madej Chairman's Award:  Fred Farley Unsung Hero Award:  H1 Rescue Team Rookie of the Year:  Andrew Tate Official of the Year:  Justin Weymouth Race Site of the Year:  Tri-City Water Follies Crew Chief of the Year:  Dan Hoover Owners of the Year:  Scott & Shannon Raney Crew of the Year:  U-1 HomeStreet Bank 3rd Place - Season High Points Driver/Team Andrew Tate/ U-9 Racing 2nd Place - Season High Points Driver/Team J. Michael Kelly/ U-5 Graham Trucking National Champion Driver/Team Jimmy Shane/U-1 HomeStreet Bank